Listen Live on  


Austin's Sports Talk Leader


Posted May 28th, 2013 @ 8:26am

Tony Kanaan Wins the Indianapolis 500!
AP: The hard-luck loser no more, Tony Kanaan finally won the Indianapolis 500 Sunday - with a bit of luck, at that. In the mix all day during a record 68 lead changes, Kanaan dipped inside defending IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay on a restart with three laps to go. From there, he cruised to Victory Lane under the yellow caution flag, flipping up his visor to wipe tears from his eyes as the crowd roared. ''I got a little bit of luck today,'' said Kanaan, drenched in the
celebratory milk. ''I was looking at the stands, and it was unbelievable. I'm speechless. This is it, man. I made it.'' Kanaan had his fair share of chances to win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, but came up short time and time again. He was leading when the rain came in 2007, only to lose to Dario Franchitti when the race resumed. In all, Kanaan went into Sunday's race with 221 laps led - more than any other non-winner except Michael Andretti and Rex Mays - but his second-place finish to Buddy Rice in 2004 was the closest he had come to victory. He had a pair of third-place finishes, including last year, again to Franchitti. This time, it was Franchitti whose crash brought out the final caution to seal Kanaan's victory. The next oval race on the schedule for the IZOD IndyCar Series will be at Texas Motor Speedway on Saturday, June 8th.

Up Next: Monster Mile

Race: FedEx 400 Benefiting Autism Speaks - Race 13 of 36
Race Length: 400 miles - 400 laps
Track: Dover International Speedway - 1 mile
2012 Winner: Jimmie Johnson
Radio: MRN Radio - Sunday, June 2 - 11:00 am CDT
TV: FOX - Sunday, June 2 - 11:30 am CDT
Notes: Jimmie Johnson has averaged more than 200 laps
led in each of the last eight races at Dover.

Kevin Harvick Victorious in Coca Cola 600
Kevin Harvick won a battle of survival in the Coca-Cola 600, emerging late as his
contenders fell aside to cap an eventful Sunday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Harvick notched his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win of the
season and his second victory in stock-car racing’s longest race in the last three
seasons. He led just 28 of the 400 laps to notch his 22nd win in NASCAR’s top
division. Kasey Kahne, last year’s winner of the 600, stayed on the track on old
tires during the race’s last caution period, finishing second after leading 156 laps.
Kurt Busch, pole-starter Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano completed the top five.

Who's Hot

Jimmie Johnson has won 7 times in 22 races at Dover. One more trip to Victory Lane will give hime the alltime track record.

Who's Not

When it comes to hard stats, Dover ranks as one of the lowest for Kasey Kahne. He has an average finish of 21.4, and has finished on the lead-lap just six times in 18 races.

Point Standings

2 Carl Edwards -32
3 Matt Kenseth -51
4 Clint Bowyer -60
5 Kasey Kahne -75
6 Dale Earnhardt Jr. -81
7 Kevin Harvick -83
8 Paul Menard -98
9 Martin Truex Jr. -109
10 Brad Keselowski -110
WC Kyle Busch 2 Wins
WC Aric Almirola Points

Recommended Stories