Listen Live on  


Austin's Sports Talk Leader

Nascar Hot Sheet

Posted April 8th, 2014 @ 8:31am

Joey Logano Wins Duck Commander 500

TMS Release: Penske Racing's Joey Logano became the seventh different
winner in as many NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races this season after surviving
a green/white-checkered finish in Monday's rain-delayed NASCAR Duck
Commander 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. Logano was cruising to victory with
a two-second lead over Penske Racing teammate Brad Keselowski with just over
one lap remaining in the scheduled 334-lap event, but debris from a shredded
tire on Kurt Busch's No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet brought out the caution
and two-lap overtime shootout. The leaders pitted and Jeff Gordon, who was fifth
when the caution came out, and Brian Vickers gambled with two-tire stops to
come out for the restart first and second, respectively. Logano, with four fresh
tires, came out third, but his teammate and chief contender Keselowski was
penalized for speeding on pit road, which dropped him into 15th. Gordon held off
Logano on the first lap, but Logano got a strong run inside on the frontstretch and
was able to overtake him in Turn 1 and pull away to a 0.476 of a second margin
of victory in the race that was extended to 340 laps.


Race: Bojangles’ Southern 500 - Race 8 of 36
Race Length: 500 miles - 367 laps
Track: Darlington Raceway - 1.366 mile
2013 Winner: Matt Kenseth
Radio: MRN Radio - Sat., April 12 - 4:30 pm CDT
TV: FOX - Saturday, April 12 - 5:00 pm CDT
Notes: Darlington Raceway is NASCAR’s oldest
paved superspeedway. The track opened in 1950.


18-Year old Chase Elliot Wins First Nationwide Race

When Chase Elliot took the checkered flag in
Friday night's O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 at
Texas Motor Speedway, cementing his first
NASCAR Nationwide Series victory, spotter
Earl Barban had a message for him. "I want
to see the best burnout ever," Barban told the
18-year-old son of former NASCAR Sprint
Cup Series champion Bill Elliott. Chase Elliott
obliged, laying a thick could of smoke from
the exit of the tri-oval back to the flag stand.
Elliott had reason to celebrate. He had just beaten the top talents in the stock car
racing universe, whipping around Kevin Harvick to the outside in Turn 4 to take
the lead on Lap 185 of 200. Ultimately, Elliott would pull away for the victory,
finishing 2.666 seconds ahead of Kyle Busch, who ran second. Kyle Larson came
home third, followed by Harvick, who lost ground after the last restart on Lap 178
of 200. Elliott's team owner at JR Motorsports, Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished fifth.

Who's Hot: Jeff Gordon

Jeff Gordon has
seven total wins at
Darlington, and
he’s finished in the
Top-5 in eight of
the last ten races
at the track.

Who's Not: Clint Bowyer

Clint Bowyer has
finished 31st or
worse in three of
the last five
Darlington races.
His lifetime
average at the
track is 21.1.



2 Matt Kenseth -4
3 Carl Edwards -12 1
4 Joey Logano -24 1
5 Kyle Busch -28 1
6 Dale Earnhardt Jr. -31 1
7 Jimmie Johnson -31
8 Brad Keselowski -41 1
25 Kurt Busch -108 1
26 Kevin Harvick -121 1

Recommended Stories